2013 Speakers, DFH Lectures

Order and Emergence in a Non-Linear World

picture of brad allenby

Brad Allenby. At Arizona State University, Braden R. Allenby is Lincoln Professor of Engineering and Ethics; President’s Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Sustainable Engineering, and of Law; Founding Chair of the Consortium for Emerging Technologies, Military Operations, and National Security; and Founding Director of the Center for Earth Systems Engineering and Management. His areas of expertise include emerging technologies, especially in the military and security domains; Design for Environment; industrial ecology; sustainable engineering; transhumanism; and earth systems engineering and management. Dr. Allenby received his BA from Yale University, his JD and MA (economics) from the University of Virginia, and his MS and Ph.D. in Environmental Sciences from Rutgers University. He is an AAAS Fellow, a Fellow of the Royal Society for the Arts, Manufactures & Commerce among other fellowships. His latest book includes The Theory and Practice of Sustainable Engineering (2011).

picture of tom jordan

Tom Jordan. At the University of Southern California, Thomas H. Jordan is a University Professor and the W. M. Keck Foundation Professor of Earth Sciences. His current research is focused on system-level models of earthquake processes, earthquake forecasting, continental dynamics, and full-3D waveform tomography. Jordan received his Ph.D. from the California Institute of Technology in 1972 and taught at Princeton University and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography before joining the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1984. He has served as an elected member of the Council of the National Academy of Sciences (2006-2009) and the Governing Board of the National Research Council (2008-2011). He was awarded the Macelwane and Lehmann Medals of the American Geophysical Union, the Woollard Award of the Geological Society of America, and the 2012 Award for Outstanding Contribution to Public Understanding of the Geosciences by the American Geosciences Institute. He has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society.

picture of taylor perron

Taylor Perron. In the Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences at MIT, Taylor Perron is the Cecil and Ida Green Assistant Professor of Geology. His research focuses on the physical processes that create landscapes, both on Earth and on other planets and moons. His group's efforts currently follow three themes: (1) the development of uniform patterns in landscapes, and the interpretation of these patterns as records of the geologic past; (2) the influence of climate on erosion and landscape evolution; and (3) the role of fluids in shaping landscapes on Mars and Titan (Saturn's largest moon). He holds an AB in Earth and Planetary Sciences and Archaeology from Harvard University and a PhD in Earth and Planetary Science from the University of California, Berkeley. Perron is the 2011 recipient of Luna B. Leopold Young Scientist Award of American Geophysical Union.

picture of carla staver

Carla Staver. At Columbia University, Ann Carla Staver is Prize Postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Environmental Biology. Her research focuses on the dynamics and distribution of the savanna biome, and she uses a combination of empirical and modelling approaches to understand how local interactions of trees with their resource and disturbance environment scale up to predict landscape- and continental-scale patterns in tree cover and the distributions of biomes. She received her BA from Columbia University in 2005, MSc from University of Cape Town in 2008, and PhD from Princeton University in 2012. She received the George Mercer Award of Ecological Society of America in 2012.

Contact Prof. Dork Sahagian (610-758-6379), Prof. Zicheng Yu (610-758-6751), or Prof. Peter Zeitler (610-758-3671) for additional details or answers to questions.

ees page-end glyph


The Annual Donnel Foster Hewett Lecture Series is sponsored by the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences and is supported by a bequest which was made to the department by one of its most distinguished alumni, Donnel Foster Hewett (more info).

Hewett matriculated at Lehigh University in September 1898. Following graduation in 1902, he spent another year at Lehigh as an assistant in metallurgy and mineralogy under the direction of Joseph Barrell. After Joseph Barrell moved to the Department of Geology at Yale in 1907, Hewett went there in 1909 to study geology and received his Ph.D.

In 1911, he joined the U.S. Geological Survey and his career with the organization spanned 60 years until his death in 1971. When in 1951, Donnel Foster Hewett reached the mandatory retirement age of 70, his full-time employment by the Survey was continued indefinitely by Presidential order. To a great host of geologists, he became a legend in his own time and was affectionately referred to as "Mr. Geological Survey" or "Mr. Manganese", the latter because of his devotion to and advancement of our understanding of the mineralogy and genesis of manganese ores.

During his career he received many honors:

  • Vice President, Geological Society of America in 1935 and 1945
  • President of the Society of Economic Geologists in 1936
  • Elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1937 and the Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1949
  • Distinguished Medal of the Department of the Interior in 1951
  • Penrose Medal in 1964
  • Honorary Ph.D. from Lehigh in 1942